Date Published: 19 Dec 2018

The New India Foundation(NIF) is pleased to announce the shortlist for the first “Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize” that will be awarded annually for the best non-fiction book on modern/contemporary India. This prize builds on the New India Foundation’s mission of sponsoring high-quality research and writing on all aspects of Independent India. This prize builds on the New India Foundation’s mission of sponsoring high quality research and writing on all aspects of Independent India. The prize is named after Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay because she worked across many fields- the freedom struggle, theatre, handicrafts, refugee rehabilitation and many more. She was a pioneer in each of these fields, as well as a true patriot who was also a great internationalist.Open to scholars and writers independent of all nationalities, eligible books should have been published in the previous calendar year. The award carries a cash award of Rs 15 lacs and a citation.

The six books shortlisted for this year’s Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize are:

  • Abhinav Chandrachud, The Republic of Rhetoric: Free Speech and the Constitution of India (Penguin Randomhouse India, 2017).
  • Aanchal Mehrotra, Remnants of a Separation: A History of Partition Through Material Memory (HarperCollins, 2017).
  • Anirudh Krishna, The Broken Ladder: The Paradox and Potential of India’s One Billion (Penguin Randomhouse India, 2017).
  • Sujatha Gidla, Ants Among Elephants: An Untouchable Family and the Making of Modern India(HarperCollins, 2017).
  • Milan Vaishnav, When Crime Pays: Money and Muscle in Indian Politics (Yale University Press, 2017).
  • Francesca R. Jensenius, Social Justice Through Inclusion: The Consequences of Electoral Quotas in India (Oxford University Press, New York, 2017).

The prize will be judged by a jury consisting of the four trustees of NIF (Ramachandra Guha, Nandan Nilekani, Srinath Raghavan, and Manish Sabharwal) and two members of our Advisory Board (Professor Niraja Gopal Jayal and Dr. Rukmini Banerjee). Commenting on the shortlist the Chairman of the Jury, Ramachandra Guha said “We were very pleased with the range and diversity of the submissions. With memoir, oral history, political theory and public policy all represented on it, the short-list reflects the Foundation’s ecumenical charter of recognizing high-quality non-fiction regardless of genre and ideology”.

The winner of the Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize will be announced in the last week of October, during the Bangalore Literature Festival.

Get In Touch

  • The Managing Trustee,
    The New India Foundation
    C/o Neev Schools Sy No.16,
    Yemalur- Kempapura Main Road
    Yemalur, Bangalore 560037